City Vice-Mayor Hon. Janrey G. Gavina, presided the first inaugural session of the 8th City Council of Panabo on July 8, 2019. In the session, privilege speeches were delivered by the members of the said council: Hon. Emmanuel G. Pamisaran, Hon. Gregorio U. Dujali, Hon. Devona H. Jumamil, Hon. Janno Paolo P. Gentiles and Hon. Wendel M. Enad.

At some point of their privilege speeches, similar goals were drawn in to the member: anti-corruption, craft new laws and regulations that will benefit the majority of the Panaboans, not only self-vested interest of the field. They are all working together on one goal for the betterment of the people of Panabo and improvement of the City of Panabo.

On the other hand, the members of the city council were all present for the assignment of committees that each of them will be leading. The members of the committee will draft a resolution to complete the members of the different standing committees.

One City Councilor noticed that the august body did not invite the City Mayor Jose E. Relampagos in the first session as it is in Republic Act 7160 or the Local Government Code that the City Mayor should have been there to “Present the program of government and propose policies and projects for the consideration of the Sangguniang Panlungsod at the opening of the regular session of the Sangguniang Panlungsod every calendar year” according to Chapter III, Article 1, Section 455 of the Code. However, the session ended with no further agenda.

Further, their chairmanships will lead the committees to new, amend, or change policies in the city. Once these policies are crafted, City Mayor Jose E. Relampagos will either decide to approve the ordinances for implementation or veto to return them to the city council for further improvements.

Some notable chairmanships are Hon. Gentiles on Ways and Means, Hon. Dujali on Rules and Privileges, Hon. Jumamil on Laws, Justice and Human Rights, Hon. Ranain on Finance and Appropriation, Hon. Pamisaran on Education, Hon. Namuag on tourism, Hon. Catalan on Social Services, Hon. Enad on Health and Sanitation, Hon. Blase on Agriculture, Hon. Bangoy on Labor and Employment, SK President Hon. Carisma on Youth and Sports, ABC President Hon. Matutino on Barangay Affairs, and IPMR Hon. Macla on Cultural Affairs.

Related Posts